Spicy roast chickpeas

Roast chickpeas are my favourite savoury snack at the moment. The only thing wrong with them, is that I can’t stop nibbling until the whole lot is gone! I’ve established that they keep perfectly well for two days in an air-tight container, but so far that’s the longest I’ve managed to spin a batch out.

How do you make them? Easy peasy and infinitely variable – Google for alternative recipes. What I do is this:

Rinse 250-300g of cooked chickpeas* in fresh water and dry them in a clean tea towel. Put the chickpeas in a bowl and drizzle a teaspoon or three of olive oil** over them. Add a heaped teaspoon of medium curry powder and a good shake of salt. Mix thoroughly to coat the chickpeas as evenly as possible with the other ingredients.

Spread the chickpeas on a lightly oiled baking sheet and cook in a pre-heated oven at about 200C for about 40 minutes. Give the tray a gentle shake and turn it if necessary after 20mins. You’ll probably need to experiment a bit with cooking times and temperature as all ovens vary. It’s important that the chickpeas are completely dried out and crunchy, but leave them too long, or have the oven too hot, and you’ll shatter your teeth trying to chew them. Luckily they cool down very quickly, so frequent testing is easy…

* I use dried chickpeas as I think they taste nicer than tinned, have no additives and are cheaper. I cook up a whole 500g bag at a time and freeze them for later use. A 500g bag of dried chickpeas costing about £1 at the time of writing yields over 1kg cooked weight. Even allowing for cooking and freezing costs I think this is less expensive than buying tins which contain 240g drained weight for 70-80p. The only downside to cooking your own is that they stink the house out while they simmer!
** I use the flavourless light and mild kind of olive oil for cooking.

5 Comments on “Spicy roast chickpeas”

  1. Ian says:

    Chick peas are soaking as we speak – we will do ours in the pressure cooker – half for hummus and will definitely try roasting the rest – cumin is really good with chick peas as well.

  2. ohhhh what a good idea – I’m going to try this – thanks!

    i also use dried pulses – they are so much cheaper, keep forever and just need a little forward planning.

    • Hope you like the results – I find that each batch is slightly different, depending on how heaped my teaspoon is and how carefully I watch them towards the end of cooking time!

  3. Sounds delicious, I always have left over chick peas after making humous so now I know what to do with them. My pressure cooker is my most precious kitchen item. A bit heavy at times but fab for cooking pulses and quick veg soups!